Take This Tune Again

Take_This_Tune

We haven’t done a Take This Tune for a long time, so for the new folks, here are the very simple rules. I set a subject and put up a video. Your job is to contribute a story, comment, or a video of your own in response to the idea and seeded video.

Since This is Oscar Season, the subject is songs from films that reflect your life in some fashion. Mine is a doozy. The film: “Same Time Next Year” covers a one weekend a year love affair for 25 years from the 1950s on. In between the time shifts, the musical interludes show the passage of time with the beautiful: The Last Time I Felt Like This which was nominated but did not win the Oscar (another bad academy decision). The video below is a collection of those images that mark the passage of time with all the historical pictures of important events. To this day it remains one of my favorite films simply because the years covered are the story of my life from childhood to mid 30s.

Your job is to tell me a story, post a video, give me the film music of your life.

About Jamie

Retired Writer Editor - Loves Books, Musical Theater, politics for a good argument, genealogy, Scotland and owls
This entry was posted in Movies, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Take This Tune Again

  1. blueINdallas says:

    “There’s A Light,” from “The Rocky Horror Picture Show.” I think I went to that midnight movie almost every weekend during my first year at college. A hopeful message wrapped in a hauntingly sad melody, which matched my mood with all of the life changes going on at that time.

    Like

  2. kcowley says:

    I know this is a corny,silly song but it is pretty much word how i felt about my life for decades- only missing words were “mother of louis, brian, Emily & will. Who I Am https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uh2qTnHdaH0

    Like

  3. blueINdallas says:

    K – I hadn’t heard that song in too long. Thanks.

    Jamie – Thanks for posting mine.

    Like

  4. Jamie says:

    Note to post a video, put URL on a separate line

    Like

Leave a Reply

