That Time Again

oscar-statue-mediumThreeByTwo440

As we begin the season leading up to the Academy Awards to be aired on Sunday,February 28, listed below are all the nominees. Since you probably haven’t had a chance to see all of the films vying for the little gold man, now is the time to familiarize yourself before Chris Rock makes fun of them all. This year’s controversy (every year has one) is that while some of the films might be in black and white, the nominees are all white and white. I’m sure Mr. Rock will have a thing or two to say about this condition while those of us with an unending admiration of Idris Elba are being appropriately grouchy. Just go see Beasts of No Nation and you can be grouchy as well. You can watch it on Netflix.

In the meantime, please weigh in with your guesses, hopes, favorite films of the year etc. There will be a test later in February should you wish to join in submitting your ballot.

Oscar List

Oscar List 2

About Jamie

Retired Writer Editor - Loves Books, Musical Theater, politics for a good argument, genealogy, Scotland and owls
This entry was posted in Movies, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to That Time Again

  1. blueINdallas says:

    First, thanks for letting me know the date of Oscar night. I’ve scheduled a vacation day for the 29th, to recover.

    I’ve seen nothing. The last movie I went to was Michael Moore’s “Sicko.”
    I don’t have cable, so no more movies on demand, either.

    The Big Short looks the most interesting.
    I did see Vikander in “A Royal Affair” a couple of years ago (on demand) and she was great.
    Chris Rock will certainly have a lot material.

    Like

  2. Jamie says:

    From Dave Blank: The Golden Globes is becoming the big event for me – surpassing the Academy Awards. By going first, being fun and fast-moving, and avoiding the racism charges of the Oscars, I think that is true more than ever this year! I will probably watch the final 1/2 hour of the Oscars on Feb. 28 and read about the rest the next morning…but I’ll still make my predictions.

    Like

  3. rebelliousrenee says:

    Blue…
    I too haven’t seen any of these movies. Since my good friend that looooooved movies passed away, I’ve had a hard time stepping into a movie house. Rick and I did go see the new Jurassic movie this past summer. I think the Big Short looks interesting too. I read the book and it really helped in explaining what actually led up to the housing collapse. I know I’ll probably watch some of the Oscars… but I rarely stay up until the end.

    Like

  4. daveb99 says:

    Renee – Sorry about your movie friend. You, me, and BlueInDallas should get together for The Big Short. Jamie – you’re invited, too! What would be a central meeting place…Kentucky?

    Like

  5. Jamie says:

    Can’t make the Kentucky meet up, but we could do a virtual reviews. Spotlight looks excellent as well and I really want to see Brooklyn. Favorite films I’ve seen this year: Trumbo and Mr. Holmes but I actually did pay per view for Mad Max and shut it off as totally boring half way through.

    Like

  6. rebelliousrenee says:

    David… Ha! How about Iowa… but only after all the hoopla is gone.
    You and Craig stay safe with the impending big storm. It’s hard for me to imagine you guys getting all that snow when we only have a couple inches on the ground.

    ps… Go Patriots!

    Like

  7. blueINdallas says:

    Yes, I think Iowa is half way. There’s a theater right off I-80 in the ‘burbs of Des Moines.

    Go, Pats!

    Like

  8. daveb99 says:

    Spotlight was excellent. I liked it for the exposé/Boston angle and Craig liked it for the journalism/focus on reporters-he-knew angle.Can’t believe Cardinal Law got a promotion when it was all over…Yes, Renee and Blue, glad we are on the same page re: the Patriots. I have a thing about Iowa, not my favorite state – kind of like Thelma and Louise needing to get to Mexico without going through Texas…but I’ll go anywhere for Renee and Blue.

    Like

  9. Jamie says:

    The Oscars Change Course In an effort to avoid this year’s controversy, the Academy has made rule changes and will add more ethnic and women to the eligible voters by 2020.

    Like

Leave a Reply

