5 On Friday – A Year In The Life

5 On FRiday

The 5 on Friday Meme was invented by Travis of Trav’s Thoughts. To take part, simply select five songs to share and sign in on his website.

This week I simply decided to revisit 1971 as it was a year of change with lots of driving long distances. Long distances in that era meant lots of radio for company. Looking through the list of possibilities I realized what a great year it was behind the wheel and that I could do several Fridays on just one year.

Ain’t No Sunshine When She’s Gone

Black Magic Woman

The song that gave my granddaughter her name simply because my daughter fell in love with it when she was seven – Brandy You’re A Fine Girl

Me and Bobby McGee

My Sweet Lord

About Jamie

Retired Writer Editor - Loves Books, Musical Theater, politics for a good argument, genealogy, Scotland and owls
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 5 On Friday – A Year In The Life

  1. Oh my word, Jamie–this whole set is gold. I may have been a young whippersnapper in 1971, but I remember the songs-on-the-radio feeling perfectly. Especially these tunes.

    Like

  2. mjgolch says:

    The Year 1971 works for me.I graduated Hightschool in January 1971 and by the summet of 1971 July to be exactly I joined the USAF.I cannot pick just one as my fave this week.all are.Thanks for the walk down memory lane.

    Like

  3. Travis says:

    It’s fun to focus in on a single year sometimes. I agree that 1971 was a great musical year.

    Like

Leave a Reply

